Fallen Hero

Last night I received a phone call from my brother asking me if I was watching WWE Monday Night RAW.  I was not.  He tole me to turn it on.  I did.  Vince McMahon was in the middle of the ring in an empty arena.  His bloodshot eyes told me something was very wrong.  He told us Chris Benoit, his wife Nancy–known as the wrestling manager Woman, and their 7 year old son Daniel were found dead in their home earlier Monday.

Chris Benoit was the pinnacle of excellence.  He set his sights on goals and achieved them…against the odds.  He became the WWE World Champion even though he was never a true heavyweight.  He, unselfishly, did what he could to make sure the newer guys on the roster were able to look good.  He was a teacher, a ring general.

There were stories last night about how Chris would make sure his sons were wearing ties and shaking the hands of all the wrestlers back stage.  How he would instill in then a respect not only for the business, but for the people.  He loved his children, and his wife.

That is what make all this so hard.

This is why I have an upset stomach while I write this.

Investigations are pointing to the sad fact that this was a double-murder suicide.  Chris did not make his scheduled appearances this weekend, and apparently sent a strange text message to friends.  These friends told higher ups in the WWE who called the local police asking them to make a welfare check on the Benoit home.  When the authorities  go there they discovered the three bodies in different parts of the house.   It is thought the time line is that Chris killed his wife and son over the weekend and himself on Monday.

I was fearing this would have been what happened.  Hoping it was carbon monoxide poisoning, but fearing the worst.

I don’t know how to react.  Sadness and mourning for the loss of a hero.  Anger and frustration that someone who loved his family so much could have performed such a despicable act.  What does one do when a hero falls?

I guess the only thing we can do is fight for more mental illness screening and help.  And pray for Benoit’s other 2 children and his family, and for the family of Nancy who loved her so much.

What does one do when a hero falls?

4 responses to “Fallen Hero

  • Angie

    I will not believe Chris Killed Nancy and Daniel until I see SOLID proof… I Met Chris and Nancy several years ago when my husband worked for WCW/NWO. We became instant friends. He was so kind, so gentle.. and he loved Nancy even when she wasn’t very nice to him. I can’t wrap my head around this..WHY??? I don’t understand.. Everyone says we must HATE Chris now.. I say NO!!! IF and I don mean IF he murder Nancy, and Daniel.. it wasn’t really him. I Chris Benoit I knew and loved could never kill anyone..
    REST IN PEACE my GOOD FRIEND for you have no demons scream at you.. YOU ARE FREE….

    Again… until there is proof w/out a doubt that Chris did this I stand by him and the rest of the Benoits..

    I still Love you Chris!!

  • Katherine

    Well the investigation says that he did it….but something must have been very very wrong in his mind for him to have carried out this tragedy. I am sorry for everyone’s loss both Nancy’s parents and family and Chris’ parents and family. This is a very hard thing to get your head around. Did anyone else notice that Chris and Nancy shared a birthday? She was 3 years older but they were born on May 21st.

  • Theresa

    Nancy portrayed a woman who was all about satanism and evil. why should anyone expect her to live to a ripe old age and have a peaceful death. its awful that a child had to be born to such a woman. if anyone is in hell it would be Nancy for helping to glorify all that is evil.

  • snaganoff

    I AM SO SICK OF CHRIS BENOIT GETTING ALL THIS ATTENTION LIKE HE DID NOTHING WRONG.HE FUCKING KILLED HIS WHOLE FAMILY PEOPLE GET A LIFE IF ANYTHING CHRIS SHOULD HAVE KILLED HIMSELF.HE WASNT SET UP HE WAS ON DRUGS THAT IS WHAT ALL THESE JURKS IN WRESTLING DO.I SAY GET RID OF WRESTLING ALL TOGETHER THESE BOYS AND GIRLS THAT THINK ITS GREAT TO PUT THEIR HANDS.ON WOMEN THEIR IS SOMETHING WRONG THESE WRESTLERS ALL A PROBLEMS SO INSTEAD OF FEELING SORRY FOR THESE.JURKS GET OVER IT ALREADY.

Leave a Reply

