10

On Tuesday we remembered the 10th anniversary of my dad’s death.  July 29, 1998.

I have been trying to blog about it all week, but the words have been failing me.  Ten years is a long time, and a lot has happened.  You think you should feel a certain way at such an anniversary, but I do not feel the way I think I should.  I am not grieving; I am not sad.

I am here.  I am aware.  And I am happy.

That is the legacy I have been blessed with from my dad. I know that tomorrow comes and it may or may not be better than today, but I just have given up that I am in control of these things.  This song was sung at his funeral and it is a great reminder of this:

My dad loved music, and that love is shared by my mom, my brother and me.  Music is a magical things that transcends our spoken language.  Through music we are encouraged and strengthened.  This was one of dad’s favorite hymns, and how appropriate.  Even though his body was falling apart piece by piece this song was something that helped give him strength:

Dad smiled.  Lordy, would he smile.  He would not allow us leave the funeral with frown on our face.  The bier and the people exited the church to this…played by a brass band:

So long Dad!  Thanks for everything.  The memories will always be with me, and you will not be forgotten.

5 responses to “10

  • Shannon

    Hi Justin. You found me on facebook, and I have to be honest- I am not 100% clear on my memory of you. You seem very familiar, but . . . anyway- I think you have a great blog here and I look forward to reading a long for awhile. Maybe my memory will be jogged as we go along.

  • Obsquatch

    Shine on. This is beautiful. My thoughts are with you and my smile goes out to you and your family. Cheers.

  • Meggo

    This is a wonderful tribute to your dad, Justin. I love you for it. We all miss him, but we know hes whole again now.

    XOXO Mom

  • Tripp (still apostate after all these years)

    Well met, Justin. This is great…Blessings on you, brother.

  • kathleen kochman

    JUSTIN YOUR DAD IS SO PROUD OF YOU AND JOSH. IT SEEMS LIKE YESTERDAY HE LEFT US, AND IT SEEMS LIKE FOREVER. HE IS MISSED AND LOVED EVERYDAY. I THINK HE AND BOB HAVE PROBABLY PLAYED SOME CARDS AND DRANK SOME BEER. I MISS BOTH OF THEM. BUT WE KNOW THAT WE WILL SEE THEM AGAIN AND BE WITH THEM. WE HAVE TO WAIT FOR THAT DAY. BUT WE HAVE THAT ASSURANCE..LOVE YA COUSIN KATHLEEN

Leave a Reply

